Inactivation is a process of temporarily disabling subscription. The most common case for inactivation is when the subscription is due on payments, however, it can also happen in some other cases such as immediate domain cancellation or service subscription that contains security threat (hacked site or stolen email passwords, etc…).
Domain inactivation assumes that domain’s DNS becomes locked.
In practice, that means that name servers for that domain are changed to parked ones and therefore anything that depends on domain becomes unusable because new DNS settings are pointing that domain nowhere. While being inactive any kind of domain administration is disabled (including changing of nameservers) both through My Pages but also through other channels like requesting a change through support mail or over the phone.
Even tough there is a possibility to transfer the domain out (by asking for EPP/Auth code) and gain control back over it through another registrar, note that for some TLDs transfer between registrars implies renewal cost which might be more expensive than reactivating domain subscription.
Eventually if inactivated domain subscription is not reactivated or domain is not transfered away, it will be cancelled.
Service inactivation assumes that service functions are disabled.
In practice, that means that website is not visible or email messages cannot be sent, received, or read.
While being inactive any kind of service administration is disabled both through My Pages and Control panel but also through other channels like requesting a change through support mail or over the phone.
Eventually if inactivated service subscription is not reactivated, it will be cancelled.
This article is not yet rated.
Login to give us feedback